esp 2010 pokalWinners of European Solar Prize 2014 honored in Rome
Organized by: EUROSOLAR, EUROSOLAR Italia and the Bord of Architects of Rome

EUROSOLAR recognizes outstanding projects and initiatives of towns and municipalities, companies, local associations, architects and individuals through its annual European Solar Prize, now in its 21st year. In 2014, a panel of international judges selected eight winners from 5 countries. The achievements of the honorees were documented through a special tribute presentation. The recipients of the European Solar Prize 2014 came from Australia, Italy, UK, Uganda, Germany and Switzerland.

As another innovation in the European Solar Prize program, Eurosolar Italia, EUROSOLAR’s Italian section and the Board of Architects of Rome invited to the one day symposium, "ENERGY TRANSITION INTO A REGENERATIVE ENVIRONMENT: THE FUTURE OF THE CITY AND THE TERRITORY", which was held in connection with the presentation of the Solar Prize award.

Prof. Peter Droege, EUROSOLAR President, said: "The European Solar Prize is given by EUROSOLAR since 1994 in recognition of outstanding commitment to the utilization of renewable energy. Today's prize recipients are important, innovative and successful leaders in their respective countries, and models for a renewable energy-based Europe, a climate-stable, energy sustainable and a socially just, democratic world. In particular they demonstrate that all parts of society contribute to the transformation to a fully renewable energy-reliant society."

 DSC9630 Redfern Oval Solar Panels webRecognized through the European Solar Prize 2014 in the category "Towns/municipalities, council districts and public utilities": City of Sydney, Australia for the implementation of its Renewable Energy Master Plan 2030.

Presented with the European Solar Prize 2014 in the category "Solar architecture and urban planning": Klärle GmbH Company based in Germany 
for converting historical buildings for the use of renewable energy with BIPV and renewable heating incorporating high aesthetic appeal.

Coop E Lastwagen042Presented with the European Solar Prize 2014 in the category "Transport and mobility": E‐Truck E‐Force used by COOP of Switzerland for being a model for renewable mobility and transport of goods to be implemented throughout the fleet and emulated across Europe.

Recognized through the European Solar Prize 2014 in the category "Industrial ENELand commercial companies or farmers": Enel Green Power of Italy and 40South Energy, UK, for the open innovation project focusing on wave energy developed by 40South Energy.

FLU Buerogebaeude front referenz VL2A0324Equally presented with the European Solar Prize 2014 in the category "Industrial and commercial companies or farmers": Flumroc AG of Switzerland for longstanding and unwavering commitment to renewables in its factory and administrative operations.

Recognized through the European Solar Prize 2014 in the category "Local or regional associations/organizations": Energy pioneers of Hollich and District of Steinfurt, Germany, for the initiative "EnergyLandscape Hollich".EurosolarpreisSteinfurt036

41-Tonino in the On-Air Studio with Alex AsikiPresented with the European Solar Prize 2014 in the category "One-World Co-operation": Radio Pacis based in Uganda for their photovoltaic plant reducing operational costs and promoting solar energy in rural Uganda.

G-14-08-08 Portrait GHGiorgio Hefti, founder of TRITEC AG based in Switzerland received the special achievement prize for individual commitment 2014 for his achievements as an entrepreneur who has been committed to solar energy for more than 25 years and has helped realize more than 400 MWp of solar power capacity worldwide.

For more Information please see our website: