European Solar PrizesYou can find here the laureates of the European Solar Prizes 2003. The awarding ceremony took place on December 2nd, 2003, in the Berlin office of the KfW-Bankengruppe. In 2003, EUROSOLAR awarded the European Solar Prizes for the 10th time.

The European Solar Prizes are awarded to municipalities, companies, individuals using Renewable Energies, and to organizations who rendered outstanding service to the utilization of Renewable Energy. The European Solar Prizes are dedicated by EUROSOLAR in cooperation with KfW Bankengruppe while the winners are chosen among the applicants for the respective national Solar Prizes.

EUROSOLAR congratulates all winners of the European Solar Prizes 2003.

Video "10 Years European Solar Prizes" (video)

Category Cities/Municipalities, counties and municipal services
Gemeinde Werfenweng
Municipality of Werfenweng
Project Sustainable mobility and tourism on the way to an energy autonomous municipality
Appreciation Gemeinde Werfenweng
Video Video Gemeinde Werfenweng (ram)

Category Industrial and commercial companies and farmers
Walter Schmid, Kompogas
Mr Walter Schmid, Kompogas AG
Project 30 years engagement for sustainable technologies
Appreciation Walter Schmid
Video Video Walter Schmidt (ram)

Category Owners or users of installations utilizing Renewable Energies
Raphael Freiherr von Loe
Mr Raphaël Freiherr von Loë
Project Energy concept of Wissen Castle
Appreciation Appreciation Raphaël Freiherr von Loë
Video Video Raphaël Freiherr von Loë (ram)

Category Local or regional associations promoting projects for Renewable Energies
DS Trade and Industry
DS Trade & Industry
Project Energy and environment group for Renewable Energies
Appreciation Appreciation DS Trade & Industry
Video Video DS Trade & Industry (ram)


Category Solar architecture and urban development
Winner Ev.-Luth. Kirchengemeinde Waltenhofen
Parish of Waltenhofen and Lichtblau
Architects Office (Germany)
Project Construction of Waltenhofen Parish Centre
Appreciation Appreciation Parish of Waltenhofen and Lichtblau Architets Office
Video Parish of Waltenhofen and Lichtblau Architects Office (ram)

Category Media
Winner 1 Era Solar
Editorial staff of "Era Solar"
Project First Spanish magazine for Renewable Energies
Appreciation Editorial staff of "Era Solar"
Video Video Editorial staff of "Era Solar" (ram)
Winner 2 Jörg Kachelmann
Mr Jörg Kachelmann
Project Dissemination of climate and renewable energy issues for a broad public
Appreciation Appreciation Jörg Kachelmann
Video Video Jörg Kachelmann (ram)

Category Transport systems with Renewable Energies
Winner 1 Choren Industries (Germany)
Project Contribution to the creation of solar based mass- and energy economy
Appreciation Choren Industries
Video Video Choren Industries (ram)
Winner 2 Philippe Chartier
Dr. Philippe Chartier
Project Leading promoter for Biomass in France and Europe
Appreciation Appreciation Dr. Philippe Chartier
Video Video Dr. Philippe Chartier (ram)

Category Education
Winner 1 Sarigerme
Sarigerme Renewable Energy Group
Project Model for a civil society's involvement in Renewable Energies
Appreciation Sarigerme Renewable Energy Group
Video Video Sarigerme Renewable Energy Group (ram)
Winner 2 Sergio Los
Mr Sergio Los
Project  30 years of educational work for sustainable architecture and urbanism
Appreciation Appreciation Sergio Los 
Video Video Sergio Los (ram)

Category One World Cooperation
Winner Grameen Shakti
Mr Dipal C. Barua, Grameen Shakti
Project Extension of Renewable Energy capacities though micro-credits for rural populations
Appreciation Appreciation Dipal C. Barua, Grameen Shakti
Video Dipal C. Barua, Grameen Shakti (ram)


Category Special prize for extraordinary individual commitment
Winner 1 Ehepaar Sladek
Ms Ursula and Mr Michael Sladek
Project Nuclear-free energy supply of the Schönau energy utility
Appreciation Ursula und Michael Sladek
Video Video Ursula und Michael Sladek (ram)