Logo Eurosolar

Application period concluded

On 15 June the application period for the European Solar Prize 2018 has come to its end. We are extremely pleased with the high level of interest and participation. This year again, a large number of exciting projects, organisations and people applied for the European Solar Prize. We would like to thank all participants for their commitment.

In the next days, the applications will be reviewed, processed and subsequently submitted to the jury for evaluation. At the end of July, the jurors will nominate the award winners during a jury session. All applicants will be informed about the results in August.

The winners of the European Solar Prize 2018 will be honoured in the EUROSOLAR home town of Bonn. The award ceremony takes place on Saturday, 17 November 2018, at Kunstmuseum Bonn. We would like to invite you to this event. The invitation to the award ceremony will soon be published on our homepage and in our newsletter.

Members of the jury:

Prof. Peter Droege, President of EUROSOLAR, Architecture and urban planning
Dr. Axel Berg, Chairman of EUROSOLAR Germany, Consulting and energy law
Gallus Cadonau, CEO of Solar Agency Switzerland, Solar architecture
Joaquim Corominas, President of the Association Energy Congress of Catalonia, Electrical engineering
Hermann Fellner, Executive board of EUROSOLAR Germany, Bioenergy
Stephan Grüger, MdL, Vice president of EUROSOLAR, Energy policy
Wolfgang Hein, Vice president of EUROSOLAR, Economical co-operation and development
Andre Langwost, EUROSOLAR France, Participation and financing
Jennifer McIntosh, Executive Secretary of International Solar Energy Society (ISES), Communication and public relations
Judith Ronai, President of EUROSOLAR Hungary, Education and communication
Prof. Livio Sacchi, Faculty of Architecture of Pescara, Architecture and urban planning
Prof. Jürgen Sachau, University of Luxembourg, Power systems and control engineering
Prof. Dr. Tanay Sidki Uyar, Vice president of EUROSOLAR, 100 % renewable community and engagement


European Solar Prize 2017 awarded to ten laureates in Vienna

Award winner 2017

Having previously been held in Rome, Prague and Barcelona this year’s edition of the European Solar Prize has been awarded in Vienna together with EUROSOLAR Austria. On 18th November ten nominees from ten different countries have been honored in celebratory event at the venue of Technical University Vienna (TU the Sky). The innovative projects and the outstanding commitment in the field of renewable energies were presented via movies, interviews and presentations to the audience.

Continue Reading

About the European Solar Prize

The European Solar Prize Award was established in 1994 by EUROSOLAR in cooperation with its national sections. It has since been handed out every year to towns and municipalities, community businesses, associations or organizations, architects, journalists and individuals for their extraordinary accomplishments and significant contributions to the use and expansion of renewable energy in Europe. With the Solar Prize EUROSOLAR recognizes outstanding commitment to renewable energy.

The prize is given to make pioneers and leaders the focus of public attention all over Europe and to give fresh impetus to a renewable energy-based and decentralized energy turnaround. It honors outstanding and innovative projects and initiatives from all parts of society. At the end of each year the award winners are celebrated at a festive gathering in different European countries.