Logo Eurosolar

The European Solar Prize

Applications and nominations for the prestigious European Solar Prize can be submitted from 4 March to 15 August.

Submissions must be in English and include the applicant's contact details, the category chosen and a summary containing the main information about the project. Additional information can be uploaded in a file of max. 10 MB. Please note that projects need to be completed or sufficiently advanced to provide first results to be eligible for the award. The Solar Prize is not awarded to products, books, single studies or inventions.

We are looking forward to your application.


Apply now


Applications are open for individuals as well as groups, communities and other corporate entities. You can submit your application in one of the following categories:

a) Towns/municipalities, council districts, public utilities

b) Solar architecture and sustainable design

The Solar Prize is awarded to architects, planning offices, housing associations, cities or other institutions that develop innovative concepts for the use of renewable energies in individual buildings or districts. The focus is on design and structural implementation.

c) Industrial and commercial companies or farmers

The Solar Prize is awarded to industrial companies, cooperatives and farms that promote the market integration of renewable energies through their business model or cover their own energy needs through innovative regenerative concepts.

d) Local or regional associations and organizations

The Solar Prize is awarded to associations and communities with a local or regional focus that promote grassroots use and distribution of renewable energy in the region.

e) Owners or operators of renewable energy installations

The Solar Prize is awarded to operators or owners of decentralized renewable energy systems that supply private buildings, industrial enterprises, or educational institutions, or feed electricity into the grid. This includes solar parks and small wind farms.

f) Transport and mobility

The Solar Prize is awarded for vehicles and transport solutions with climate-friendly technology, as well as sustainable and integrated mobility concepts for public and private transport.

g) Media

The Solar Prize is awarded to journalists, publicists, agencies or filmmakers who discuss and promote renewable energies in their work on TV, radio, online or in print.

h) Education and vocational training

The Solar Prize is awarded to institutions, initiatives or individuals who provide education and training in the field of renewable energies and inform about it.

i) One world cooperation

The Solar Prize is awarded to projects, initiatives or organizations that use renewable energies to promote socially and ecologically sustainable development.

j) Special achievement

The Solar Prize is awarded to individuals for many years of outstanding personal commitment to the promotion of renewable energies. Nominations are most welcome in this category.


Posted in European Solar Prize

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.