Logo Eurosolar

European Solar Prize 2020 awarded to nine laureates online

The European Solar Prize 2020 was awarded to nine laureates fighting for the energy revolution. Today EUROSOLAR awarded the European Solar Prize to actors from seven different nations.

People from all over the continent came together in front of their screens to celebrate the most courageous and visionary renewable energy projects Europe’s citizens have to offer. Politicians and scientists, artists and entrepreneurs gathered to listen to inspiring speeches, learn about outstanding projects and enjoy the show.

The European Solar Prize 2020 goes to:

esp cat towns

Isle of Eigg, Scotland

For its community owned, managed and maintained stand alone energy grid,
which supplies all residents with electricity from renewable energy sources


esp cat solar architecture

FELIX PARTNER Architektur und Design, Switzerland

For transforming the 350-year-old Engadine building ensemble into a
traditional yet modern zero-energy house



esp cat companies

Camping Car, S.L., Spain

For creating the eco-friendly camping bungalow resort La Ballena Alegre, Costa Brava



Lake Constance Foundation, Germany

For their versatile work and reliable commitment to renewable energies for over 25 years and counting


esp cat transport and mobility

Ærø Municipality, Denmark

For the electric ferry ELLEN, which demonstrates the great potential of green electric mobility in shipping



Platform against Nuclear Hazards Salzburg (PLAGE), Austria

For campaign work on the dangers of nuclear energy and the new short video "Quit EURATOM"



Johanna Jaurich, Germany

For raising awareness of the ecological and social impact of coal power with her film "My future without coal – Three people, one story"



School Roof Revolution, Netherlands

For supporting and facilitating the installation of PV systems on all suitable roofs of Dutch


esp cat one world cooperation

Social Business (B)Energy, Germany

For making biogas available to remote rural households through mobile biogas technology




Congratulations! Johannes Hegger & Louise Holloway


Congratulations! Prof. Dr. Claudia Kemfert



This year, the jury was faced with particularly difficult decisions and would like to make special mention of the ZEZ citizen energy project in Croatia. Even though they did not quite make it this year, the jury was impressed by their progress and their drive.

Posted in Archive European Solar Prize