ESP2018 410x273

European Solar Prize 2018 – Announcement of the award winners

Bonn, 6 November 2018. Never before it has been so important to drive the renewable energy transformation consistently, quickly and with commitment to imaginative local solutions. Because the latest findings on climate change show the price being paid for long delayed action. Every year EUROSOLAR awards the European Solar Prize to role models and pioneers in the field of renewable energies and brings a wide variety of energy transition actors from all parts of society into the public eye. On the occasion of the 30th anniversary of EUROSOLAR and the associated annual partnership with the City of Bonn, this year's award winners will be honoured in the EUROSOLAR home town. The award ceremony will take place on Saturday, 17 November 2018, at the Kunstmuseum Bonn, Germany.

The European Solar Prize has been awarded annually by EUROSOLAR in cooperation with the national sections of EUROSOLAR since 1994 to municipalities, companies, associations and organisations, architects, journalists and private individuals. Within the award, the vigour and inventiveness of local and regional actors are appreciated and new impulses for a regenerative and decentralized energy turnaround in Europe are given.

EUROSOLAR President Prof. Peter Droege will welcome the guests, provide an introduction and guide them through the event. Lord Mayor of the City of Bonn and ICLEI President Ashok Sridharan gives the festive keynote address. During the panel discussion, Jennifer McIntosh, Managing Director of the International Solar Energy Society (ISES), EUROSOLAR Vice-President Stephan Grüger, MdL, and Yunus Arikan, Head of Global Advocacy and Policy at ICLEI, will respond to the keynote, exploring ways in which the award and best renewable energy practice should inform public energy policy. From around 4 p.m. onwards, the award will be given in eight categories and the winners will be presented to the audience through interviews, presentations and movies.

A cosy get-together with snacks and drinks will complete the event and will give the opportunity to talk to winners and guests. The event is free of charge. Places are limited, an early registration is recommended.

More information and free registration are available at:

Prior to the award ceremony, a press conference will be held at the Kunstmuseum from 1 p.m. to 1.30 p.m. Thus, press representatives will also have the opportunity to conduct interviews with the award winners. We ask for a short request in advance.

The European Solar Prize 2018 will be awarded to eight laureates:

Category: Towns, municipalities, council districts, public utilities

Le Mené, France
Outstanding commitment and holistic approach to covering the community’s energy needs with 100 % renewables generated on a local scale.

Category: Solar architecture and urban planning

Pilatus Aircraft Ltd, Switzerland
Architecturally perfect integrated solar plant on the production hall to meet the energy needs of the aircraft production.

Category: Industrial and commercial companies or farmers

S&H Connect GmbH, Austria
Successful concept for exploiting the potential of using solar energy on the roofs of municipal facilities and industrial buildings.

Category: Local or regional associations / organisations

Low Carbon Hub, United Kingdom
Pioneering model of a citizen-driven, social enterprise that enables a community-owned renewable energy supply in Oxfordshire.

Category: Owners and operators of renewable energy installations

Plus-Energy-Settlement Zentrum Tobel, Switzerland
Trend-setting example of the social and economic integration of tenants into the use of solar energy.

Category: Transport and Mobility

Ostseestaal GmbH & Co. KG, Germany
Solar Electric Car Ferry ‘Sankta Maria II’ as a visionary example of emission-free water transport and wakeup call for the European ship industry.

Category: Education and vocational training

Energy Endeavour Foundation, Netherlands
Stewarding the Solar Decathlon Europe, the far-reaching student competition to raise awareness in the field of innovative and resource-responsible architecture with a political effect in Europe and the U.S.

Category: One World Cooperation

Comet-ME, Israel
Outstanding commitment in the sustainable electrification of marginalized communities in the occupied Palestinian territories.


Members of the Jury
Prof. Peter Droege, President of EUROSOLAR (Principality of Liechtenstein)
Dr. Axel Berg, Chairman of EUROSOLAR Germany
Gallus Cadonau, Solar Agency Switzerland
Joaquim Corominas, President of the Association Energy Congress of Catalonia (Spain)
Hermann Fellner, Executive board of EUROSOLAR Germany
Stephan Grüger, MdL, Vice president of EUROSOLAR (Germany)
Wolfgang Hein, Vice president of EUROSOLAR (Austria)
Andre Langwost, EUROSOLAR France
Jennifer McIntosh, Executive Secretary of ISES – International Solar Energy Society (Germany)
Prof. Livio Sacchi, University of Pescara (Italy)
Prof. Jürgen Sachau, University of Luxembourg

Notes for press editors
Detailed appreciations and pictures of the award winners can be found in our Dropbox:

Pictures of the event are available by Saturday, 17 November, from 8.00 p.m. at: